Bellator 138 ” Results

Bellator 138 ” Results

A main event years in the making finally went down Friday night at Bellator 138, as Kimbo Slice took on Ken Shamrock.

Back in 2008 while both were competing for EliteXC was the first scheduled meeting, but an injury the day of the fight knocked Shamrock out. Slice went on to face Seth Petruzelli, losing via first round knockout in just 14 seconds.

Shortly after all that, the promotion ceased operations, as Slice went on to compete on The Ultimate Fighter and for the UFC.

Shamrock used a pair of quick and easy takedowns to latch himself on the back of Slice early in the first, but the street fighter survived. Upon getting free from Shamrock’s hooks, Slice unloaded, knocking the hall of famer down and forcing the referee to call a stop to the contest.

Patricio “Pitbull” Freire retained the featherweight title with his sixth career finish inside the Bellator cage, knocking out Daniel Weichel in the second round.

The challenger was a game opponent, almost finishing Freire himself inside of the first five minutes. However, Freire stormed out in the second, catching him with a left-hook and earning the win.

Heavyweight Bobby Lashley dominated Dan Charles, who replaced an injured James Thompson in the fight. Lashley, who also competes for TNA pro wrestling, earned a third round TKO victory.

Daniel Straus, an ex-featherweight titleholder in Bellator, worked over Henry Corrales in scoring a second round submission. Straus handed Corrales his first career loss, which was also his debut with Bellator.

Another former champion, Michael Chandler, kicked off the main card in his home state with a stunning victory, scoring a first round submission win over Derek Campos. The win marked the first for Chandler in almost two years.

In early prelim action, former Resurrection Fighting Alliance champion and ex-Ultimate Fighter competitor Justin Lawrence earned a first round TKO win in his Bellator debut. Lawrence stopped Sean Wilson with just four seconds left in the opening round.

Justin Guthrie, Kyle Kurtz and Miles McDonald all posted submission wins, as well.

Results can be found below:

Kimbo Slice def. Ken Shamrock via TKO (strikes) at 2:22 of Round 1

Patricio “Pitbull” Freire def. Daniel Weichel via KO (left-hook) at :32 of Round 2 to retain the Bellator featherweight championship

Bobby Lashley def. Dan Charles via TKO (strikes) at 4:14 of Round 2

Daniel Straus def. Henry Corrales via submission (guillotine choke) at 3:47 of Round 2

Michael Chandler def. Derek Campos via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:17 of Round 1

Justin Guthrie def. Steve Mann via submission (D’arce choke) at 1:09 of Round 2

Justin Lawrence def. Sean Wilson via TKO (strikes) at 4:56 of Round 1

Chris Heatherly def. Garrett Gross via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Kyle Kurtz def. Adam Cella via submission (armbar) at 4:13 of Round 2

Hugh Pulley def. Eric Irvin via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)

Miles McDonald def. Dan O’Connor via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:30 of Round 3

Posted by Kelley Tidwell