Bellator 174: Results

Bellator 174: Results

History was made Friday night at Bellator 174 from the WinStar World Casino in Thackerville, Oklahoma.

In the main event, Julia Budd finished Marloes Coenen to become the first-ever female featherweight champion. The bout also marked the first time that Bellator had female fighters headline a card, with this one airing live on Spike.

Budd (10-2) has not lost since a 2011 defeat at the hands of Ronda Rousey, winning each of her last eight. Coenen (23-7) suffered her first loss since a 2013 setback to Cris “Cyborg” Justino.

After three-plus grueling rounds of action, it was Budd putting together her strikes in the fourth to secure the win.

The card was hit hard by the injury bug, losing two key bouts Thursday.

Fernando Gonzalez and Brandon Girtz moved into the co-main event role, with Gonzalez sweeping the scorecards for the decision win.

Justin Wren and Rafael Lovato Jr. opened the Spike main card with first round finishes. Wren submitted Roman Pizzolato with an arm-triangle choke, while Lovato stopped Charles Hackmann in just 13 seconds.

Emmanuel Rivera, Cody Pfister, Emily Ducote, Gabrielle Holloway and Justin Patterson all recorded wins on the prelims.

Pfister, who fought four times for the UFC before signing with Bellator, announced plans to retire. He is just 26 years old.

Holloway knocked out Alexis Dufresne and could be the first challenger to the female featherweight title.

Complete results are below:

Julia Budd def. Marloes Coenen via TKO (strikes) at 2:42 of Round 4 to become Bellator female featherweight champion

Fernando Gonzalez def. Brandon Girtz via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-27, 30-26)

Justin Wren def. Roman Pizzolato via submission (arm-triangle choke) at 2:35 of Round 1

Rafael Lovato Jr. def. Charles Hackmann via TKO (strikes) at :13 of Round 1

Emmanuel Rivera def. Treston Thomison via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)

Cody Pfister def. Jonathan Gray via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:04 of Round 1

Emily Ducote def. Katy Collins via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:53 of Round 1

Gabrielle Holloway def. Alexis Dufresne via TKO (strikes) at 2:53 of Round 2

Justin Patterson def. Jason Witt via TKO (strikes) at :13 of Round 3

Posted by Kelley Tidwell

Comments are closed.