PFL unveils roster, schedule for inaugural season

PFL unveils roster, schedule for inaugural season

The Professional Fighters League’s inaugural season has chosen June 7 as its long-awaited start date.

The outfit formerly known as World Series of Fighting unveiled the schedule and roster Monday for its debut season, which will consist of 126 fights across seven regular-season events – the first at Madison Square Garden in New York City.

In the regular season, 72 fighters from six weight classes (12 apiece) spanning from featherweight to heavyweight will compete in two regular-season tilts each. Wins are good for three points and draws for one. First-round finishes net fighters an additional three points, second-round finishes an additional two, and third-round finishes an additional one point.

Eight fighters from each division will then enter a traditional bracket-formatted playoff, with quarterfinals and semifinals taking place on the same evening in October. The quarterfinals are two-round tilts, and the semifinal bouts are three rounds. Finalists will vie for a title and a $1-million prize in the season’s culmination on New Year’s Eve.

According to MMA Fighting’s Ariel Helwani, the first PFL event will feature the following matchups.


Andre Harrison vs. Jumabieke Tuerxun
Lance Palmer vs. Bekbulat Magomedov
Alexandre Almeida vs. Lee Coville
Magomed Idrisov vs. Steven Siler
Marcos Galvao vs. Nazareno Malegarie
Timur Valiev vs. Max Coga


Mike Kyle vs. Shawn Jordan
Denis Goltsov vs. Nick Rossborough
Jared Rosholt vs. Valdrin Istrefi
Caio Alencar vs. Jake Heun
Josh Copeland vs. Jack May

As previously announced, the season will air on NBC Sports Network. The full schedule and roster are as follows:

June 7: Madison Square Garden, New York City
June 21: Chicago Theater, Chicago
July 5: Charles E. Smith Center, Washington, D.C.
July 19: Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, N.Y.
August 2: Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, N.Y.
August 16: Ocean Resort Casino, Atlantic City, N.J.
August 30: Ocean Resort Casino, Atlantic City, N.J.
October 5: Playoff event (venue and city TBA)
October 13: Playoff event (venue and city TBA)
October 20: Playoff event (venue and city TBA)
December 31: Championship event (venue and city TBA)


Alexandre Almeida
Max Coga
Lee Coville
Marcos Galvao
Andre Harrison
Magomed Idrisov
Bekbulat Magomedov
Nazareno Malegarie
Lance Palmer
Steven Siler
Jumabieke Tuerxun
Timur Valiev


Will Brooks
Luiz Firmino
Brian Foster
Jason High
Yuki Kawana
Islam Mamedov
Rashid Magomedov
Ramsey Nijem
Natan Schulte
Thiago Tavares
Chris Wade
Robert Watley


Paul Bradley
Ray Cooper
Pavlo Kusch
Abubakar Nurmagomedov
Jake Shields
Rick Story
Herman Terrado
Bojan Velickovic
Yuri Villefort
Jonatan Westin
David Zawada
Joao Zeferino


Shamil Gamzatov
Anderson Goncalves
Eddie Gordon
Rex Harris
John Howard
Andre Lobato
Abus Magomedov
Bruno Santos
Sadibou Sy
Louis Taylor
Gasan Umalatov
Danillo Villefort

Light Heavyweight:

Jamie Abdallah
Bazigit Ataev
Jason Butcher
Rakim Cleveland
Maxim Grishin
Brandon Halsey
Vinny Magalhaes
Ronny Markes
Sean O’Connell
Smealinho Rama
Dan Spohn
Rashid Yusupov


Caio Alencar
Francimar Barroso
Josh Copeland
Daniel Gallemore
Denis Goltsov
Jake Heun
Valdrin Istrefi
Shawn Jordan
Mike Kyle
Jack May
Jared Rosholt
Nick Rossborough

Posted by Kelley Tidwell

Comments are closed.