UFC 209: Results From Las Vegas

UFC 209: Results From Las Vegas

It was not met with thunderous applause like the first meeting, but Tyron Woodley found a way to leave UFC 209 with the welterweight title still around his waist.

Woodley recovered from a sluggish start to earn a majority decision over Stephen Thompson Saturday night in the main event.

Last year at UFC 205, the duo fought to a majority draw. The fight could have gone that same direction this time around, but two judges scored it 48-47 in favor of Woodley.

After the loss of an interim lightweight title fight between Tony Ferguson and Khabib Nurmagomedov, officials placed David Teymur and Lando Vannata into that spot.

Teymur stepped up to the challenge, earning a clean sweep of the scorecards to take a decision.

In a middleweight affair, Dan Kelly spoiled the return of Rashad Evans, claiming a split decision. The win was the fourth straight for the former judo Olympian. Evans, an ex-UFC light heavyweight champion, was making his debut at 185 pounds.

Cynthia Calvillo submitted Amanda Cooper and Alistair Overeem earned a third round finish vs. Mark Hunt after connecting with a nasty knee.

Marcin Tybura defeated Luis Henrique, Darren Elkins upset Mirsad Bektic, Iuri Alcantara submitted Luke Sanders and Mark Godbeer defeated Daniel Spitz on the FOX Sports 1 prelims. Tyson Pedro finished Paul Craig and Albert Morales defeated Andre Soukhamthath on UFC Fight Pass.

Complete results are below:

Tyron Woodley def. Stephen Thompson via majority decision (48-47, 47-47, 48-47) to remain UFC welterweight champion

David Teymur def. Lando Vannata via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Dan Kelly def. Rashad Evans via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Cynthia Calvillo def. Amanda Cooper via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:19 of Round 1

Alistair Overeem def. Mark Hunt via KO (knee) at 1:44 of Round 3

Marcin Tybura def. Luis Henrique via TKO (strikes) at 3:46 of Round 3

Darren Elkins def. Mirsad Bektic via KO (strike) at 3:19 of Round 3

Iuri Alcantara def. Luke Sanders via submission (knee-bar) at 3:13 of Round 2

Mark Godbeer def. Daniel Spitz via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Tyson Pedro def. Paul Craig via TKO (strikes) at 4:10 of Round 1

Albert Morales def. Andre Soukhamthath via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Posted by Kelley Tidwell

Comments are closed.