UFC 217: Results Including Three Title Fights

UFC 217: Results Including Three Title Fights

Georges St-Pierre put an exclamation point on a wild night at UFC 217 Saturday, becoming the new middleweight champion with a submission victory over Michael Bisping.

After splitting the first two rounds, the former welterweight titleholder locked in a rear-naked choke thanks to his strong wrestling base, becoming the latest multi-division champion in UFC history.

St-Pierre, who vacated the welterweight title almost four years ago and stepped away from MMA, joins BJ Penn, Randy Couture and Conor McGregor as the only men in UFC history to wear gold in two weight classes.

T.J. Dillashaw returned to the top of the bantamweight mountain, finishing Cody Garbrandt in the second round to win the belt. Dillashaw is now a two-time champion in the UFC, but this one means a little more.

Dillashaw and Garbrandt were once teammates at Team Alpha Male before Dillashaw left the crew. The two have gone back-and-forth for months, including a stint as coaches on The Ultimate Fighter.

Garbrandt, unbeaten coming into the night, appeared to be in good shape early on, flooring Dillashaw at the end of the first round. The challenger, though, returned fire in the second, securing the stoppage.

The second time was the charm for Rose Namajunas, as the former Ultimate Fighter runner-up earned a first round TKO victory over Joanna Jedrzejczyk for the strawweight title.

Namajunas made the finals of TUF, but was denied the belt by Carla Esparza. This time, she was the one getting her hand raised, dealing Jedrzejczyk her first career loss in the process.

Former UFC title contender Stephen Thompson claimed a decision vs. Jorge Masvidal. Thompson was fighting for the first time since dropping a decision to Tyron Woodley back in March for the belt.

Paulo Costa scored the biggest win of his career to date, finishing former UFC welterweight champion Johny Hendricks. The referee stopped the middleweight contest at 1:34 of the second round, awarding the Brazilian the win.

With just a second to go in the second round, James Vick poured it on. That helped Vick score a finish vs. Joseph Duffy in the FOX Sports 1 prelim main event.

Vick, who has won his last three fights via finish, improved to 12-1 in his career. The stoppage loss was the first for Duffy since 2011.

Mark Godbeer picked up a victory via disqualification after Walt Harris landed an illegal head-kick in the second round.

Ovince Saint Preux kept his winning ways going strong, this time stopping a fighter with a head-kick. Saint Preux had earned back-to-back triumphs via Von Flue choke, but on this night finished Corey Anderson with his striking.

Randy Brown picked up a decision victory over Mickey Gall, with Curtis Blaydes forcing the doctor to stop his UFC Fight Pass prelim vs. Oleksiy Oliynyk in the second round.

Ricardo Ramos kicked things off with a spinning back-elbow that knocked out Aiemann Zahabi in the third round.

Georges St-Pierre def. Michael Bisping via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:20 of Round 3 to become new UFC middleweight champion

T.J. Dillashaw def. Cody Garbrandt via KO (strikes) at 2:41 of Round 2 to become new UFC bantamweight champion

Rose Namajunas def. Joanna Jedrzejczyk via TKO (strikes) at 3:03 of Round 1 to become the new UFC strawweight champion

Stephen Thompson def. Jorge Masvidal via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)

Paulo Borrachinha def. Johny Hendricks via TKO (strikes) at 1:23 of Round 2

James Vick def. Joseph Duffy via TKO (strikes) at 4:59 of Round 2

Mark Godbeer def. Walt Harris via DQ (illegal head kick) at 4:29 of Round 2

Ovince Saint Preux def. Corey Anderson via KO (head kick) at 1:25 of Round 3

Randy Brown def. Mickey Gall via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-27)

Curtis Blaydes def. Oleksiy Oliynyk via TKO (doctor’s stoppage) at 1:56 of Round 2

Ricardo Ramos def. Aiemann Zahabi via KO (spinning back elbow) at 1:58 of Round 3

Posted by Kelley Tidwell

Comments are closed.